My anubhav from being a big city girl to live in a small town.

So, I have recently shifted from Mumbai to a small city (I would rather call it a small town. but people reading this might get offended.) called Kashipur in Udham Singh Nagar. I got a job here because of which I had to relocate. It was my decision to leave Mumbai and come to this new land, to experience the life here away from my family and friends.

In my interview for this job I was asked whether I wanted freedom from my parents’ restrictions and that’s why I wanted to move away from my home. I guess I gave a befitting answer and so I’m here. I am writing this blog today to share my experience in this new place and also an answer to that question.

My friends back in Mumbai keep asking me, “So, how is the new found freedom suiting you?” and I started pondering over it. My answer to that is, “I feel like I have been stripped off of all the freedom I got in Mumbai.”

I love the organization I am working for. People are also very warm and welcoming. But certain things will always remain different from the place I come from. Number one being food. My north Indian friends in Mumbai love south Indian food. It’s the most integral part of their lives! Here, people have a phobia for south Indian food. Puranpoli, bhakri, misal pav, vada pav, pav bhaji, alu vadi, kolhapuri, upma, ragda patis are all aliens here! I miss shawarma the most. Oh yes! we get Shawarma here as well but it’s totally different from what I’m used to. It’s the most oily thing I ever had. Biryani is also very different from what I used to have. But yes! it’s very delicious. Thanks to the people here. And many more to explore as of yet.

I travel all alone at 12:00 midnight in Mumbai as carefree as I can be. But here, going out at 8 pm in the evening gives me shivers. The lanes and roads are so deserted.

In Mumbai, I have the freedom to flirt with anyone and they wouldn’t take it seriously! Here, I have to constantly be on my guard. What if people here take it seriously?! Here, people flirt with me. But I have to be very careful as to how I respond to it. If I flirt back then the consequences might be very tough to handle. Not that I mind people flirting with me. If I expect a good company for food and travel from a guy here they assume it otherwise and start judging. But Mumbai! I can travel the world with a guy just being friends and also without a fear of being judged. I love dressing up. That too, ethnic wear is the dearest to me! So, when I have time in the morning I deck up and look my best. I dress-up for myself and not for others, but people assume it the other way round.

I have also observed the reverse side of it. When people come to Mumbai from other places of India, they think asking for casual sex is the most coolest thing to do. I might be wrong in generalizing here. But this has been my observation.

Gender discrimination and stereotyping is passively prevalent in Mumbai. But here I can see it in the most active form. One of the teachers I work with have openly expressed that girls are meant to be in the kitchen and boys in the office. This statement blew my mind away!

All in all I am getting what I asked for! I knew all along that living in Mumbai is like living in an illusion that the rest of India is also the same. But now I am getting to see the real India.

Mumbai is definitely meri Jaan! but also being aware of the reality is necessary.

Author: The lost soul

I write when I'm sad. I write when I'm anxious. I write when I'm clueless. I write when I'm confused. Most important of all is that I don't write when I'm happy. Neither do I call myself a writer. But yeah, I write! and that's what matters, isn't it?

Leave a comment