Beautiful Nightmare – The best phase of my life

I’ve been writing about the darker side of my life and since then a few of my friends suggested me to write about my beautiful phase. So, I thought why not?

Yes! I call it the most beautiful chapter so far. This is the phase that I cherish forever. Learnt my virtues and formed my principles during this time.

I too fell in love like everyone else. A rather unusual story. Won’t bore you with the details but a few cherished moments.

It all started when I was an English trainer in one of the English-speaking class. I was teaching in the Chembur branch and had to come down to its head office for some official work. That was when the receptionist introduced me to him saying that there is a new joinee in the office. He gave a bright smile and spoke in Hindi which was layered with a strong south-Indian accent.

It started with a usual friendship and then lead to him developing feelings for me. He expressed it and I said a flat no. Then it continued with the same friendship for almost a month. He went to Bangalore for a few days and so we were out of contact till then. I started missing him terribly and anxiousness reached its peak. The moment he returned to Mumbai I couldn’t contain my happiness and this time I was the one to confess.

Now came the complicated part. I started questioning my decision. All I could think was what a blunder I had committed by confessing to him. I started regretting it. I wanted to go back in time and change what I had told him. I was dodging each and every opportunity of meeting him. He had asked to meet me several times and I kept making excuses because I was having second thoughts about him. Then one day again he asked to meet me and I had some work in the bank that day. This time again I found an excuse. He said its okay, he will meet me at the bank. Now I had no escape.

Funnily, our 1st meet after confessing to each other happened at the bank. This is the first and the most beautiful moment of my life. I was sitting on a bench and looking at my cell phone, praying that he should call me up and say that he won’t be able to come. But I got a text message saying he is on his way and would reach in five minutes. I kept looking at the entrance of the bank and my heart started beating wildly.

Finally, the moment came when the door opened and he stepped inside. Our eyes met and a bright smile broke out on both our faces. Suddenly all I could see was him in that crowded place. All my doubts and inhibitions got cleared as my heart beat came to normal. It was like a breath of fresh air. There was a sudden calmness that spread through me and it felt like two pieces of puzzle finally clicking into place. Nothing else felt so right other than that moment. I could remember this like it just happened yesterday.

He was the humblest and a selfless man I have ever seen in my life. I have become a better human being after I met him.

We would get into a lot of arguments and debates and they became my best memories with him. He, being a Kannada Brahmin, won’t eat any non-veg food and I am a hardcore non-vegetarian. We would always argue which was healthier.

I would often ask him why he loved me and his answer would be, “I don’t know.” After a couple of times he said, “I don’t know why I love you. If I find out the reason behind it then I can also find an alternative to live without you.” That answer of his blew my mind. He gave me a definition for love.

I never thought of a future with him ever because whenever I dream of something it never lasted. I didn’t want my happiness to be shattered. It was his department to think about our future of togetherness.

I don’t know why it didn’t work or why he is not in my life anymore. Maybe he found the reason behind his love for me. But all I know is that I am very thankful that he came to my life and helped me become a better human being. I have shed countless tears but I don’t regret even a single second of that phase.

Today I am able to write this because I have moved on in life. It’s the most beautiful phase of my life that I have shared with everyone today. God has definitely blessed me with this beautiful experience for which I would be ever grateful.

He came in reality

And vanished like a dream.

He was the most beautiful nightmare ever.

 

Yes. Now I call him my beautiful nightmare.

 

Author: The lost soul

I write when I'm sad. I write when I'm anxious. I write when I'm clueless. I write when I'm confused. Most important of all is that I don't write when I'm happy. Neither do I call myself a writer. But yeah, I write! and that's what matters, isn't it?

Leave a comment